Reviews

Facebook Reviews

  • positive review  We had a lovely week despite the weather. Great being so close to the Monsal Trail and lots of interesting things to do in the area. The staff are wonderful, so friendly and helpful.

    thumb Stephanie Goss Way
    10/02/2019

    positive review  Thank you ... great wedding venue!

    thumb Chris Harrison
    8/21/2019

    positive review  We have been to Thornbridge Outdoors for about 3 out of the past 4 years (or maybe more!) for a friends Re-union weekend. Each visit has been fab, the size of the Lodge for our 7 families (mostly 4's with the odd 3) is perfect. The accommodation is basic but clean and the kitchen well equipped for such a large group. The organisation has been excellent and the past 2 years we have had an instructor for our group to enjoy some on-site and off-site activities. These have been a real highlight of our stay - with some of our group attempting new challenges and pushing their bravery. Great spot for the access onto the Monsal Trail too - used for walk/run/bike across our group.

    thumb Raych Carbery
    5/28/2019
  • positive review  Great setting, well maintained accomodation and friendly instructors.

    thumb James Herbert
    5/08/2019

    positive review  Lovely and calm place. Well maintained

    thumb Naveeda Riaz
    2/15/2019

    positive review  The whole place looked stunning last night , we were just there to support an artist.

    thumb Linda Searle
    9/30/2018
  • 5 star review  Wow I've had the most excellent residential overnight at thornbridge and the staff we're very helpful and I hope to come again with family and friends

    thumb Joseph Sockett
    3/29/2018

    5 star review  Oadby Walking group: We had our anniversary get-together (30 members) and stay with a great Monsal trail walk in November 2017. It was a great stay and the accomodation satisfied all our needs. The administrative staff (Helen and Jill) were very helpful and understood our needs. Ian, the walking guide, clearly guided us with our needs for the walking activity. In summary, the staff were very helpful, the accomodation was great and we had one of the happiest times! Thanks.

    thumb Thanthullu Vasu
    12/10/2017

    5 star review  Awesome location for the alpkit festival thanks for having us

    thumb Kev Smith
    9/24/2017
  • 5 star review  I loved the place. Great location. The accommodation was very clean and big enough for a large group. Wonderful facilities on site and walking grounds. The Thornbridge hall accross the road is beatiful area to walk and explore. The nearby village of Ashford is beautiful for a leisurely walk. Will recommend to friends.

    thumb Shoaib Haider
    9/16/2017

    5 star review  Great place, lovely instructors, shame about the pizza...

    thumb Catriona Elen McIntosh
    9/09/2017

    5 star review  Great place to do you own thing. Lots of space and few close neighbours,!

    thumb Richard Hakes
    8/28/2017
  • 5 star review  What a fabulous place, well equipped, versatile and very friendly.

    thumb Richard Bateman
    6/26/2017

    5 star review  It's a wonderful place for both adult and children. Situated in a very peaceful location and so much to explore. Staffs are very friendly ...We had a wonderful and a memorable time in Thornbridge outdoors

    thumb Saji Samuel
    6/09/2017

    5 star review  My son really enjoyed his recent school trip. He was able to enjoy a wide range of activities. The staff were very helpful and responsive in helping find his lost wallet.

    thumb Charlotte Shepherd
    4/07/2017
  • 5 star review  Thornbridge Outdoors have excellent facilities and very friendly helpful staff. Every staff member that I came into contact with was friendly and pleasant. 🙂

    thumb Tina Fox
    2/11/2017

    5 star review  Went there for a team-building session organized by my uni. Everything was perfect! Great facilities, great instructors, and an amazing landscape! Thank you for your kindness 🙂

    thumb Juliette Itsugua
    2/03/2017

    5 star review  Excellent spot for a group of friends to gather. We were a mixed group of family and friends of all ages. Facilities are perfect and location is really good for walking biking climbing and general outdoor messing about. Nice biking areas on site and a little bouldering wall. I left a heart rate monitor behind which they very kindly and promptly posted back to me. Couldn't recommend enough.

    thumb Ambitious Melon
    1/29/2017
  • 5 star review  Excellent spot for a group of friends to gather. We were a mixed group of family and friends of all ages. Facilities are perfect and location is really good for walking biking climbing and general outdoor messing about. Nice biking areas on site and a little bouldering wall. I left a heart rate monitor behind which they very kindly and promptly posted back to me. Couldn't recommend enough.

    thumb Daniel Short
    1/29/2017

    4 star review  Amazing experience. My team members are all very nice�

    thumb Ding Jiang
    10/07/2016

    5 star review  Perfect activities! I am so enjoy it. It is good for make friends.

    thumb April Zeng
    10/07/2016
  • 5 star review  Had a fantastic stay at Thornbridge Outdoors this weekend. The Lodge was brilliant for our group - we especially liked the outdoor space and the BBQ. Very friendly staff and a fantastic experience throughout.

    thumb Adele Ashington
    6/28/2015

    5 star review  While booking Thornbridge Our group never thought that the fun will be at the highest like this. High rope and sky walk was amazing, thanks Jill for your timely and friendly action to build up the confidence of our kids. As we were 9 families the 9 bed rooms in Lodge seems like it's build and designed for us. The well equipped kitchen is perfectly arranged for the large group Once again thanks to whole staffs and team of Thornbridge outdoors

    thumb Subhash Sasidharan
    5/30/2015

    5 star review  Stayed a night with the family. Wanted a cheap bunk house and I'm so glad my event started from here as it's a gem. Beautiful surroundings.

    thumb Richard Thompson
    9/28/2014
  • 5 star review  Yeh !

    thumb Orlando Hampton
    6/15/2014

    5 star review  Wow I've had the most excellent residential overnight at thornbridge and the staff we're very helpful and I hope to come again with family and friends

    thumb Joseph Sockett
    1/01/1970

Google’s Most Helpful Reviews

  • 5 star review  A beautiful place

    thumb Salma Lane
    9/19/2020

    4 star review  Been couple times now for training with The British Antarctic Survey, and its always good fun

    thumb David Knight
    10/24/2019

    4 star review  Been couple times now for training with The British Antarctic Survey, and its always good fun

    thumb David Knight
    10/24/2019
  • 5 star review  Great residential with verses arthritis this weekend. The bike trails are amazing

    thumb Ellie Makin
    9/23/2019

    5 star review  Fantastic residential overnight at thornbridge with college

    thumb Joseph Sockett
    3/29/2018

    5 star review  Great facilities at reasonable price. Really good for large groups with children. Accommodation is basic but that's all we needed.

    thumb Mattie Winder
    3/11/2018

Testimonials from 2019/2020

All the activities have been excellent and engaging for the children. We’ve had another fantastic three days. They’re brilliant staff, encouraging the children to achieve and to overcome fears and challenges.

A Sheffield School

The greatest success of our visit has been generally the way the instructors are with the children and the way they encourage their independence and teamwork skills.

A Sheffield School

The most successful activities in our programme have been caving, as it’s a really unique experience, and canoeing because it’s great for teamwork. The Lodge accommodation has been great and its lounge has made a super base for us teachers. Plus, the centre staff have been excellent in supporting us during our visit. They’re extremely accommodating, knowledgeable and experienced – everyone we’ve encountered has been wonderful. Thank you so much, it’s been such a great experience.

A Sheffield School

Our instructed sessions were fantastic – the instructors had a really good rapport with the children. The team at the centre were so friendly and helpful! We have had an absolutely fabulous time, many thanks.

A Sheffield School

All of the activities in our programme have been successful and every child has commented so positively about each activity – there have been absolutely no negative comments. All of the staff at the centre, too, have been outstanding in their support and care.

A Sheffield School

The most successful activity in our programme has been the Thornbridge Challenge as it enables team work and develops problem solving skills. As always, the children love the high ropes – they overcome lots of fears and support one another brilliantly. The instructors have been brilliant at helping us to achieve our aims and encouraging nervous children. Thank you for another great residential.

A Sheffield School

Quotes from the kids include ‘It was the best week of my life, better than Fortnite, will we see a unicorn?’ etc etc.

A Sheffield School

We found everyone we came across very helpful. We really enjoyed hosting our wedding at Thornbridge Outdoors and hope to be back at some point in the future.

Summer wedding

We have had a lovely time and enjoyed cycling the Monsal Trail, it’s brilliant having it right outside. We would definitely recommend doing the High Peak and Tissington trails as well. Ilam Park in Dovedale is a beautiful walk and well worth doing. The Bakewell pudding in Bakewell is delicious.

Family group

2 The Woodlands is a very comfortable and well equipped cottage. It’s in a great location, very handy for the Monsal Trail, Bakewell, and Chatsworth. Thornbridge Hall gardens were very impressive! Watch out for the black rabbit!!!

Family group

The accommodation was good and surprisingly spacious. The process for booking, communication etc was very easy. The campfire was a real bonus and the location just about perfect. We are keen to book again for next year.

Faith youth group

We took our first year Sport Development students to Thornbridge again this year and, as with previous years, had an excellent experience. The team are able to mould the day around learning outcomes that we set and the instructors are brilliant. Our students got so much from this and it gives staff an opportunity to get to know the students a little better. Thanks again, and see you next year!”

University group

We had a great time – there are very few places we can stay with the twins so it’s great to find somewhere set up for us in the beautiful Peak District. The Sky Ropes was awesome fun – thanks!

Family with access needs

Thank you again for an amazing weekend, we had a really good time and thought the facilities were great. I asked for feedback from our members and the general feeling is that they really liked it and thought it was the same or better than the previous accommodation we have used and, as the trip organiser, I think yours is priced more competitively so I think it is very likely we will be booking the same again next year.

University sports group

Many thanks for a well planned and delivered course It had a good pace and I have learned a lot of new information and skills.

Outdoor First Aid course attendee

The instructors were both informative and engaging. A well-paced course, very useful.

Emergency first aid course attendee

The highlight of the course for me has been the great walks that we’ve been able to go on while learning, and the instructor has been really supportive as we’ve dealt with areas of the nav that have taken time to grasp.

Hill & Moorland Leader Training attendee

I was impressed with the content and delivery of the course. There was plenty of interaction and opportunity to be a volunteer and practice the skills taught. I’ve been very happy with the course.

Outdoor First Aid course attendee

Fantastic course! The instructor was knowledgeable, informative and fun! Good pacing, timing and repetition to build confidence and ability! Thank you!

Outdoor First Aid course attendee

Case Studies

Angram Bank Primary, Our Journey to Thornbridge Outdoors

It is 9am on a Friday morning in the summer term. Year six children, accompanied by parents, dragging and carrying assorted luggage are arriving at Chapeltown Train Station in Sheffield for a weekend residential visit to Thornbridge Outdoors… read more

Greystones Primary

As a school on the edge of the Peak District, we continue to use the fabulous resources of Thornbridge Outdoors for our Y5 residential for many reasons… read more

James at Thornbridge Outdoors

When James joined Year 6 he appeared quiet, avoided physical activity and lacked the confidence to widen his friendship group. He cried during our first football session and refused to take part… read more

Stanhope School

I am writing to once again thank your team for making our Year 4 visit to Thornbridge Outdoors an outstanding and memorable occasion. We have been bringing KS2 children to the centre since June 2002 and have always returned back to school totally reassured that quality outdoor education is a must for all children… read more

Why not add to our Facebook or Trust Pilot reviews or leave a comment yourself below?

       

Leave A Comment

Newsletter Sign-up

 

  • Martin Clist, Outdoor Education Adviser for Sheffield City Council talks about how 'You Don't Have To Go Far To Have Fun'.... Simplified Systems for Staying local with Outdoor Learning for the Schools Group:,
  • We have some beautiful autumn colours on our site at the moment, what colours can you find at home or in the local area? ,
  • To all the teachers, students and staff of Sheffield's schools, we're wishing you a fun and safe return back to school this week! We can't wait to welcome you back to soon so that new classes can enjoy a fantastic outdoor learning residential together ,